The nurse who went to India

Yesterday, I had a colonoscopy at Straub Medical Center in Honolulu.  The two day bowel prep was a good idea, as one day is insufficient for me.

The endoscopy department has been remodeled, looking totally different from last year.  Everything is brand new and modern.  The staff worked as a well organized, efficient team.  There were so many nurses.

The nurse-anesthetist comes to mind.  He had the unpleasant job of inserting an IV needle into my hand.  I asked him why it was not inserted into the crook of my elbow.  He said that the patient might bend her arm during the procedure, the tube would tangle, the sedative would not pass through, and the patient would wake up.  The nurse could not insert the needle into my right hand, as my veins were tiny, but he was successful with my left hand.  It was painful.  To keep me distracted, we discussed traveling in India.  He told me he had spent two weeks in India in April 2017 to attend his Indian friend’s wedding.  He said the food was excellent.  I told him that David and I had spent two weeks in India, too, in 2012.  We rode an elephant up the mountain in Jaipur.  The nurse told me he hiked up that mountain.

Before you knew it, I was sedated and the colonoscopy proceeded successfully.

I will always remember that nurse-anesthetist as the one who traveled to India.  This is the mountain in Jaipur that we discussed:

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 010-A

This is the elephant that David and I rode up that mountain:

elephant ride-A

After the colonoscopy, the gastroenterologist told me that there was moderate inflammation in my lower colon, diverticulosis, but no polyps.  Biopsies were taken and sent to the lab.  I have to see the doctor in mid-September for the pathology results.  I hope I don’t have cancer.  If not, I hope we can find some way to cure the inflammation with different medication.

8 Responses to “The nurse who went to India”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Me too. Best wishes.

  2. dkzody Says:

    Sometimes a change in diet will affect inflammation. That’s the reason I don’t do dairy or red meat.

  3. Christine Says:

    sure you will be fine, what a fabulous trip that was.

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    Hoping for the best results for you!

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Glad the procedure went well, and what an interesting conversation. You have had some wonderful adventures Gigi.

  6. DJan Says:

    I do hope you find everything can be managed. I’ll bet you’re glad to have that done! 🙂

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    Well, I’m not a doctor, but to this veteran colonoscopy patient no polyps means no cancer … and all the rest is small stuff. At any rate, good luck!

  8. Silver Willow Says:

    Not necessarily ‘all the rest is small stuff.’ I had similar situation in May, and just got diagnosed at the follow up with beginning Ulcerative Colitis (in the lowest end where it always starts.) It’s been a journey adjusting my diet (everyone has to follow a unique path in that regard, no one-diet-fits-all), and learning to adjust to medication likely for life (and hope it stays the simplest of medications, and doesn’t have to become more aggressive down the road.) I hope for you it’s just minor stuff from the colonoscopy prep itself. 🙂 And I’m very sorry about the flu, too…

Leave a Reply

