Banning alcohol

IMG_0066_edited-1-B

This is my photo of my wine glass cabinet.

***

Years ago, a drunk driver in Hawaii broadsided another car and killed the other car’s driver instantly.  The drunk driver was convicted of manslaughter or negligent homicide and was sentenced to twenty years in prison.  The victim’s family sued the restaurant, which had served alcohol to the driver even when it was clear that he was intoxicated.  The restaurant and the victim’s family settled out of court for an undisclosed amount of money.

At all of my parties, wine and beer are available to my guests.  Some people bring their own wine.  And yes, one or two drive home drunk.

It is an accident waiting to happen.  If someone gets killed on the street, I could be sued for being an enabler.  An enabler who allowed an intoxicated guest drive after leaving my party.

I am seriously considering banning alcohol completely.  Or I might serve drinks that have very low alcohol.  Or I might not invite people, who tend to get drunk.

What will I do with the wine glasses in my cabinet?  I might use them for non-alcoholic beverages such as juice, ice tea, or water.

13 Responses to “Banning alcohol”

  1. Olga Says:

    I know this happens, where enablers are sued for the drunken behavior of others. Designated drivers and cabs are options, but you certainly have the right to set the rules for your own parties.

  2. dkzody Says:

    Can you ask for everyone’s car keys as they enter your home and then don’t let them have the keys back if they are inebriated? Sounds like you know your guests pretty well so you could monitor their alcohol intake and just tell them, “you’ve had enough.”

    • gigihawaii Says:

      To make things simple, I will ban alcohol and serve everyone apple juice. We can raise our glass to toast the special occasion without a single drop of alcohol.

  3. Christine Says:

    You have raised a good point here! It is very concerning.

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    We all must be responsible when we have a party, it is too serious a matter to ignore. We don’t have that many parties any more. We don’t know anyone who drinks to excess. When We get together with friends, wine is served with our meal, and we may have a glass of sherry later. However, as they are always invited and generally stay the night, drinking and driving is never an issue. We can breathe easier.

  5. anonymousinthemainland! Says:

    We don’t drink and we never serve alcohol at any dinner or parties..The family knows that well, having a father who preferred his drinks and drugs over food and money for rent etc..Many in my
    hubs family drinks and are alcoholics they are never invited over at all..in fact we rarely see any of my husbands family..My family has alcohol and drug problems our friends are family to us and they don’t drink..I have seen too much heartache from alcohol..Use your glasses for pretty desserts and for sparkling cider it is great to celebrate for dinners..aloha in Hawaii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Cathy Says:

    I can understand your worry over letting family/guests drive away from your house having drunk enough to be over the legal limit or even be visibly intoxicated – but surely Gigi – you know your friends/family well enough to say ‘I think you’ve had enough to drink. We’ll call a cab to take you home’

    Or is that considered impolite?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      If I did that, there would be a scene with the drunkard arguing that she wanted to drive and to leave her alone. She would exit the house and drive her car. That behavior would upset me. I want to enjoy my party without people like her ruining it for me.

  7. Kay Guest Says:

    Always have a designated driver! Good for you for bringing this up!
    Also, you can always serve food in the wine glasses. You are such a good cook, I know you will think of the perfect thing. x

  8. Bella Rum Says:

    It is a dilemma, isn’t it? Back in the day, when awareness about driving after drinking was lower, people did it all the time. We used to have more people over for food and drinks than we do now. Designated driver is the way to go. Or you could offer to call a cab. They would say no, but I think it may get you off the hook legally. Maybe look that up. I’m not sure.

    I’d serve mousse, fruit or ice cream in your wine glasses. I used to make a Jell-o salad that had sour cream layered in between layers of strawberry Jell-o that had strawberries and nuts in it. I would put the Jell-o mixture in a wine glass first and slant the glass in the fridge, let it chill, then the sour cream and then another layer of the jell-o. Very pretty and fancy-looking and inexpensive.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    Certainly you have raised some valid concerns here, Gigi, and your solution is a good one. As I was looking at your wine glasses it seemed there were quite a lot of them, but then I recalled that you entertain quite large groups. In addition to apple juice, there are some sparkling cider drinks which might be another alternative. We used to serve these at the holidays for non-drinking friends and we would just join them.

  10. palolo Says:

    Your guests should use Uber if they are drinkers.

  11. joared Says:

    How about pouring one glass for each person if you want to toast but keeping any more away and out of sight? If anyone asks for more simply politely decline. If you are rudely pressed or feel compelled to give a reason make up whatever you want — plead poverty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

