Coffee: Risks and benefits

IMG_0154_edited-1-A

Here I am, sipping my coffee and typing these words on the computer.  Will I get cancer from sipping coffee?  I saw a headline recently indicating that the state of California is going to label bags of coffee with the warning that the chemical sprayed on coffee beans is carcinogenic.  Sheesh!  Good news, eh?

I have no intention of forgoing my morning cups of coffee.  I would rather have coffee than sex in the morning.  Sex I can give up, but hell if I’ll let you take coffee from me.

Anyway, I read somewhere that drinking lots of coffee will prevent you from developing dementia.

Coffee also is an antioxidant, which is supposed to be good for you. I really don’t know what antioxidants are, but scientists say that you should aim to have at least one antioxidant per day.

So, you’re damned if you do drink coffee, and damned if you don’t.

I might get cancer.  But, halleluia, praise the lord, I won’t have dementia.

9 Responses to “Coffee: Risks and benefits”

  1. Bella Rum Says:

    “I might get cancer. But, halleluia, praise the lord, I won’t have dementia.” LOL

    This is all news to me. I didn’t know about the carcinogenic chemical on coffee beans. Probably half of what we ingest has been sprayed with unhealthy pesticides. Our food is so unclean. You can only be sure of what you raise in your own garden.

    But thanks for giving me the bad news along with a laugh.

  2. Honolulu Aunty Says:

    The other day, my girlfriend tells me about an article that she read that promoted drinking 4 cups of coffee a day for good health. 4 cups! I told her to not believe everything that she reads.

    I also must have my cup of coffee every morning – and just that one cup. Don’t worry about it and if you are concerned, look for brands that promote organic.

  3. David Says:

    Honolulu Auntie is right! If you are so concerned about pesticides, use a brand that is labeled organic.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Terry buys organic beans to grind. He only buys enough for 10 days or so. We have coffee every morning and sometimes he makes a single cup in the evening. We are the kind of people who often need a cup of coffee to stay awake long enough to get to bed!

  5. Christine Says:

    I have one or two cups of coffee in the morning, usually one.

  6. Olga Says:

    It is not the coffee that is a problem. It is the chemicals used on way too much of our food these days. I just saw a meme which I plan to post in my own kitchen: “Eat organic food — or, as our grandparents called it, food.”

  7. Hank Chapin Says:

    NO RISK, no worries, relax, trust me. While I read the newspaper, I even drink ice cold coffee in first thing in the morning, refrigerated and left over from the day before. Soothing to the throat and very enjoyable.

  8. Carole Says:

    Enjoy your coffee Gigi! Everything in moderation, as they say.

Leave a Reply

