Bruno Mars or Beethoven?

Roosevelt High School 014-A

This is a photo of singer Bruno Mars, an alumnus of Roosevelt High School, my alma mater.

***

“If Bruno Mars comes to town and performs at the Blaisdell,” David said, “I am going to attend his concert.”

“Well,” I replied, “You will have to go alone, because I hate amplified music.  Remember when American Idol performed here?  The music was so loud, I had my fingers in my ears all night.  It was unbearable.”

I hate amplified music, when the singers sing into microphones and the guitars are connected to loudspeakers.  Ugh.  Bust my eardrums!  How can anybody enjoy such loud music?

On the other hand, classical music is never amplified.  Symphonies and operas are performed without microphones.  It’s heavenly.  I can hear the music without wincing in pain.

Besides, I never listen to contemporary music.  I prefer European aristocratic music of the 1600s, 1700s, and 1800s.  Really old music, composed by white men, who lived in Europe during the baroque, classical, and romantic eras.

I have an affinity with people who enjoy that type of music.  I look forward to the next symphony concert.

This is my recent photo of the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra:

Symphony 003-A

12 Responses to “Bruno Mars or Beethoven?”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    Everyone has differing tastes in music, Gigi, and while I do not enjoy hard rock, I do enjoy what’s termed classic rock and also classical and jazz. It’s nice that you and David share some musical likes and also your differences.

  2. Bella Rum Says:

    I’m with you. I cannot stand amplified music. It’s bad for your eardrums and makes me edgy.

  3. David Says:

    To each his own. While I do not like loud amplified music, I do enjoy broadway musicals. I remember Starlight Express on Broadway which we attended in 1987. The singers were miked and the music was strong and dynamic. WOW! I am looking forward to seeing School of Rock on Broadway. I am sure that it will be another memorable experience.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I don’t really like Broadway musicals. I prefer the Metropolitan Opera at Lincoln Center, New York. For instance, La Boheme appeals to me more than Rent does.

  4. Hank Chapin Says:

    Isn’t that photograph prima facie evidence of a misdemeanor having been committed? (Just kidding. We will be at the next symphony concert.)

  5. Christine Says:

    I understand about the noise, but maybe earplugs could help?

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    Loud amplified music isn’t my cup of tea but I love a good opera, and a symphony.

  7. Kay Guest Says:

    Bruno Mars! I remember seeing him for the first time in the movie, “Honeymoon In Vegas”, he was just a kid and he was a tiny Elvis impersonator!
    Honestly, the things I remember that do me no good!
    It is possible to listen to a good band IF they have the sound just right AND you cannot be too close to the speakers.

  8. Olga Says:

    I think it is great that you and David can both share interests and pursue interests on your own. I would not like to be like some couples who are attached at the hip. I know it works for some, but I would not like it.

  9. joared Says:

    I, too, prefer unamplified music. Also prefer acoustic instrumentation and definitely enjoy a full orchestra. I enjoy smaller size groups of instruments in small intimate settings. I especially enjoy the piano and tire of so much popular music of various genres that seem to be led by guitarists, drummers who seem to be pounding primarily on the rims, also singers who holler and/or have poor quality voices. As with all genres, including classical, semi-classical, some I like and others don’t appeal to me. I think we each hear music differently, just as the same color is perceived differently, so this is a strong factor in why we have different tastes from one another.

Leave a Reply

