Aloha, Mr. President

IMG_0039_edited-1

I took this photo of the Pacific Ocean when I visited the Waikiki Aquarium in 2016.

***

This afternoon, President Trump and his wife are expected to arrive in Hawaii for a one day stay.  They will visit the Arizona Memorial, meet with officials, and then spend the night in Waikiki.  Tomorrow, they will fly to Asia to meet with dignitaries there.

Like everyone else, I have my own opinions about national security and North Korea.

First, I agree with Trump about national security.  We need to prevent terrorists from entering our country.  Extreme vetting is necessary.  Ban people from countries that are known to be violent.  The last thing I want to see is a truck mowing down pedestrians in Waikiki, or terrorists bursting into the Blaisdell and shooting at us while we are listening to a symphony.

Second, I feel Trump should realize that North Korea will not strike first.  They are not aggressive.  After all, they have not invaded other countries nor have they ever dropped bombs on other countries.  Guess who has?  America.  If North Korea must get rid of their nuclear weapons, then America must, too.

My maternal grandfather immigrated from North Korea.  He was born and raised in the capital, Pyongyang.  I hear that North Korea is very beautiful with its lovely mountains and resorts.  Someday, I would like to visit my grandfather’s homeland.  I probably have relatives there, but I don’t know their names.

Americans want peace.  The North Koreans do, too.  They will not strike first.  Neither will the Americans.  No one wants war in this part of the world.

6 Responses to “Aloha, Mr. President”

  1. DeniseinVA Says:

    Interesting observations Gigi. I hope this trip goes well. I always enjoy the photos you share.

  2. dkzody Says:

    We need to be more concerned about crazed white men with guns than any immigrant.

  3. Olga Says:

    I hope you are right about neither side wanting war. It would be a terrible and tragic route to take.

  4. Christine Says:

    Thanks for your valid views on North Korea.

  5. David Says:

    I agree with you. Kim Jong Un is a disturbed and erratic despot, but I do not think he is crazy enough to attack the United States.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I prefer Obama’s approach to Trump’s Trump talks big but does nothing. Obama talked nice, but he built many miles of walls, killed bin Laden, deported thousands of illegals and kept us pretty safe, without alienating the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

