I must be doing something right

IMG_0206-A

This is a Dieffenbachia that I purchased at Home Depot recently.  It sits in the patio next to the window.  This is what I like most about Hawaii: the ability to grow plants outdoors year round.  Since there is no frost, the plants thrive.

I enjoy living in my house, too.  It’s a pleasure to take my cup of coffee and sit in my patio, gazing at the trees and sky.  Now and then, I’ll see butterflies or birds zip by.  Nature at its finest.  It restores my spirit, and I am ready to greet the new day with a smile.

Some people criticize me, because I have had such a wild and zany life.  Who else has traveled around the world by herself, and gone through pregnancy and childbirth without being married?

Well, people can criticize me all they want.  I must be doing something right, because I am still alive at age 71, am still married to David, own a large, air conditioned house, and have two children and two grandchildren who are outstanding human beings.

I don’t know how I managed to achieve all of this, but suffice it to say, I must be doing something right.  You can’t sneer at my success.

9 Responses to “I must be doing something right”

  1. David Says:

    I agree with you, you are truly blessed and living the life of your dreams!

  2. Christine Says:

    Your plant looks beautiful, you are a smart lady for sure!

  3. Beatrice Says:

    Gigi, I can’t figure out why you would say that people sneer at you because I am one who admires all the accomplishments you have posted about. besides who really cares what others say especially those who may be envious or have nothing good to say about anything or anyone.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      There are some people who have nothing good to say about me, Beatrice. They are the ones I don’t socialize with, because I don’t like people who stab me in the back. I guess I am very unconventional and have led an unconventional life.

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I am just beginning to finally get the great lesson: it doesn’t matter what others think or say about me.

    Be well, be happy, you are worth your great life.

  5. Russ Roberts Says:

    More power to you, Gigi! Live a long, productive life and ignore those who wish you ill. Life is too short to be burdened by the biases of others.

  6. Carole Says:

    I’m happy for you Gigi. So glad that you are at a place of contentment in your life. I woke up to snow and 14 degrees F this morning, so I’m a little envious of the Hawaiian warm weather

  7. Olga Says:

    You have had a life that brought you where you are now and that is a very good place to be. You are content with your family, home and lifestyle. Who could ask for more?

  8. joared Says:

    What matters is now. We each live our life and others don’t always understand us, but that happens.

Leave a Reply

