The Hawaiian climate

Every day on TV News, I see videos of people sweltering in unbearable heat on the mainland. In some cities, the temperature is in the triple digits.

Here in Hawaii, we don’t have that problem. It’s the usual summer weather here with the high around 89F. Just typical summer weather in Hawaii. The problem here, in my opinion, is the high humidity, which is about 75%. Again, typical for Hawaii.

Fortunately, my house is fully air conditioned. I have the thermostat fixed in the mid-70s. It’s very pleasant indoors:

Our solar water heater:

Our recent electric bill was $241. It’s affordable. We do have a solar water heater, but don’t have solar for the rest of the house. Electricity is not a problem for us.

Salesmen keep coming to our home to sell us a photovoltaic system, but I send them away. Who needs photovoltaic when our electric bill is so low?

Besides, I don’t want holes in my roof, often causing leaks. I’ll let the next owner of this house worry about “renewable energy” and “fossil fuels.”

Somehow, the climate in Hawaii isn’t bad, at all. It’s a pleasure to live here, especially during the winter.

17 Responses to “The Hawaiian climate”

  1. AC Says:

    It’s 45F here this morning. The weather is weird this year. But it will warm up.

  2. davidmgascoigne Says:

    Winter without snow is unthinkable for me. I would detest Hawaii’s climate, but if it works for you that’s all that counts.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      It’s too cold in Canada. Which is why no one basks in the sun in a bikini there. Hawaii is a tourist destination for that reason.

      • David Gascoigne Says:

        It is not “too” cold, it is just cold. It is a very small percentage of Canadians who visit Hawaii, and after a week or two they are extremely happy to come home. I know one couple who bought a house there and said for the first year they loved it, the second year they liked it and by the third year they hated it and returned to Ontario.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        But, Canada is not a tourist destination as Hawaii is. It’s not as popular. However, I did enjoy Toronto (November 1973) and Vancouver (March 1994), though it was way too cold with snow everywhere. I went there mainly to spend time with Thai friends.

  3. minsungch Says:

    I strongly agree with the direction of renewable energy but there are some drawbacks on the way. For example, in order to produce electric vehicles, we have to use cobalt which are being compiled in many parts of Africa, especially the Republic of Congo, using child labor.

  4. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …stay cool and well.

  5. Doug M Says:

    Well! I’m sure an apartment in Pittsburgh doesn’t compare to a house in Hawaii, but $241 is a big electric bill. Mine is $44 a month, and that includes my heat and AC. I’d still love to visit your islands someday, Queen Gigi. 🙂

  6. dkzody Says:

    Our PG&E bill often gets over $300, especially in the winter when I want the heat on. And lots of hot water.

    We have a dry heat here in central California but occasionally the humidity gets to 30 percent in the the summer and I’m dying with it that high. It’s usually in the teens! I love warm, sunny days.

    We have a fan in every room to help move the cool air from the AC around. Like you, we have no desire for solar panels on our roof.

  7. VJ Says:

    Hope this comment goes through. It’s much too hot here just now. WordPress keeps rejecting my comments!

  8. VJ Says:

    VJ is Valerie !

  9. Elephant's Child Says:

    Your climate (and definitely your humidity) are too hot for me. I am glad you enjoy it though.

  10. VJ Says:

    My apartment has big windows and gets sun all day. And no AC! Have a cool 😎 weekend!

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I should think that would be lovely climate! Very consistent.

  12. Maryellen Says:

    We did not have air conditioning for many years. I am so grateful for it now!

Leave a comment