Going to Hong Kong and Macau

A big MAHALO to everyone who offered suggestions as to where David and I should go on vacation.  Europe was super tempting, and a trip to the Pacific Northwest to visit with friends sounded exciting.  But, we realized that a trip to Europe would require more time than David is allowed, and David has already been to the Northwest and doesn’t feel like going there, again.

So, we have decided to travel to Hong Kong and Macau, instead.  This will be a quickie.  We will leave on a Thursday in May and return to Honolulu the following Wednesday.  Actually, we will spend just five nights in Hong Kong, the other two days spent flying.

We will fly via my favorite, Japan Airlines, which is having a special until March 2:  just $934 per person round trip.  I hope we get the newer plane, the one with the movie screen attached to the back of the seat in front of you.  The seats are wider and there’s also more leg room.  Please, oh, please give us the newer plane!

Did you know that there are no direct flights from Honolulu to Hong Kong?  We will have to fly to Narita, Japan and then fly from Narita to Hong Kong.  We will arrive in Hong Kong at 9:55 p.m.  Pretty late!  By the time we reach the hotel, it will be past midnight.

We are going to stay at a nice hotel and have requested a king size bed.  Of course!  That’s a given!

We will take the ferry to Macau and spend the day there.

We are hiring a guide to show us Hong Kong, Kowloon, and Macau.

Do we need visas?  What is the exchange rate for dollars?  Can anyone recommend some great restaurants there?

Oh, do you feel the excitement?

10 Responses to “Going to Hong Kong and Macau”

  1. quilly Says:

    I am excited for you. I would choose the more exotic vacation , too!

  2. Kay Dennison Says:

    I’m excited for you, too!!!!!! Bon voyage!!!!!

  3. Linda Hillin Says:

    Glad that decision is made. Now you can experience the fun of planning the details.

  4. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Oh, I’m excited for you, too! Sounds like a great trip! I’ll be looking forward to pictures and stories!! Have a wonderful time!

    Sylvia

  5. Thom Says:

    I thought that’s where you would end up going after yesterday’s post. I hope you have a good time. I don’t know if I would go for such a short time with all that flying but I’m sure you’ll have a good time 🙂

  6. paukaapress Says:

    I was in Hong Kong and Macau in ’92. Bet it’s changed a lot since then. Maybe I’ll find the posting I did of my trip there and re-publish it.
    We did get to Lamma Island on a yacht owned by a rich Hong Kong businessman! That was fancy!

  7. paukaapress Says:

    Oops! I made a mistake. We were there in 1999. I was in Japan in ’92.

  8. gigihawaii Says:

    I am looking forward to the FOOD!!! Especially DIM SUM. yum!

    Can anyone recommend some great restaurants in Hong Kong and Macau???

  9. musings Says:

    That sounds fantastic, Gigi! I’ll be looking forward to seeing the photos. By the way, I went to the Waioli Tea Room for a shower and it was truly disappointing.

  10. Nessa Says:

    Oh, lucky you! I’m sure you will have a great time.

    WW – Toil and Trouble

Leave a comment