Susie of Arabia

Susie of Arabia is a blog I discovered today, and it is such an eye opener!  She is an American who married a Saudi after a 12 year courtship in Arizona.  After 20 more years in the states, she and her husband and their teenage son returned to Saudi Arabia to live.  Read about their courtship, wedding, and her “abnormal” life in Arabia by clicking on this link:

http://susiesbigadventure.blogspot.com/search?q=my+perfect+wedding

There is a link at the bottom that will take you to the home page.  There, you will read about her Gmail and Facebook accounts being hacked.  She is the third person I know whose Gmail has been compromised.  Is this a common experience with Gmail?  The culprit has been emailing her friends and family for money.  Hopefully, they will realize that it is bogus and contact Susie by phone for confirmation.  Awful situation to be in!

Looking at the pictures on Susie’s blog, I wonder at the stark clothing people wear there.  Men wear white, while women wear black in the stifling heat.  This is indeed a black and white society.  Do tourists have to dress likewise?  Not many of us would want to.  So, I enjoy visiting Saudi Arabia through Susie’s eyes.

You will, too.

7 Responses to “Susie of Arabia”

  1. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    I’ve been following Susie for nearly a year now. She’s originally from Washington. And she is a great gal! Glad you found her blog! Have a lovely evening!

    Sylvia

  2. musings Says:

    I’ve been following Susie also and have her on my sidebar. She is an amazing lady. I can’t imagine what it would be like to live there. When we were in Jordan, the Bedoin fellow told us that the black clothing for women is good because it is more opaque and they can wear lighter grade cooler material. Hmmmm…. I wonder.

  3. Dobbs Ferry Dude Says:

    I pity her.

  4. Nessa Says:

    I will go check her out. Sounds fascinating.

    Sean the Vampire

  5. paukaapress Says:

    I keep thinking about that book by Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale. On the other hand, no one can say she went into this situation without knowing what could happen, that she would lose a lot of freedom.
    One thing that struck me was the beauty of the architecture and outdoor sculptures and monuments.

  6. SusieOfArabia Says:

    Gee, thanks so much for the perfectly timed plug, Gigi! In view of the fact that I’ve been terribly upset the past couple of days because my online security was compromised and violated, seeing your post really brightened my day and made me remember all the good people who are out there in cyber-space. I was happy to see comments from Sylvia from Over the Hill and Kay of Musings – I am a fan of their blogs as well. And you can bet I’ll be back to yours too now – thanks again!

  7. Susan at Stony River Says:

    Thanks for the heads-up about Gmail — I don’t even check mine (gah!) I found Susie a long time ago, and can’t remember why now but lost touch; I’ll have to start visiting again.

Leave a comment