Hong Kong: Nathan Road, Peninsula Hotel

This is Nathan Road, which is the main thoroughfare in south Kowloon. It is filled with shops. Indian men are everywhere, asking David if he needs a tailor to make him a suit. They also ask him if he wants a Rolex watch. Nope, is David’s response.

Here is a magazine stand on Nathan Road:

Note how they drive on the left side of the road.

We planned on taking the MTR train to Central in Hong Kong Island in order to dine at a dim sum restaurant there. Here is the entrance to the MTR subway:

We looked at the subway map. Unfortunately, we were too confused and there were no station attendants to help us so we left the station:

We then asked a taxi driver to take us to Stanley Street in Hong Kong Island, but he didn’t know where it was located. I told David I didn’t feel like going on a wild goose chase. We decided to have our dim sum meal at the Peninsula Hotel, which is the oldest, most historic and elegant hotel in Hong Kong:

We did not want high tea on the Veranda; we asked for dim sum and were directed to the Dining Room upstairs:

This is the beautiful table setting:

We requested Jasmine tea. Honey walnuts were served as an appetizer. Here are the honey walnuts and our first dim sum, Barbecued Pork Bao:

Spring Rolls (1 out of 3; we ate the other 2):

Shrimp:

Beef:

Shu Mai:

Pork:

Taro:

PENINSULA HOTEL SERVES THE TASTIEST DIM SUM IN THE WORLD!!! IT ALL JUST MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH. WOW! WHAT AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE!

Thank God we decided not to take the MTR or taxi to that other restaurant in Hong Kong Island. Best of all, the Peninsula Hotel is located right across the street from our hotel. How convenient!

13 Responses to “Hong Kong: Nathan Road, Peninsula Hotel”

  1. Lynette Says:

    The dim sum looks so ono! I guess ethnic foods are always best in the country of origin or is it just the atmosphere?

  2. LizKauai Says:

    How nicely that all worked out for you! And a belated Happy Mothers Day, Gigi!

    One of our friends and his wife moved to China from Kauai several years ago. His son has since become a Hong Kong singing star! Remember the name Khalil Fong. He recorded “Nothing is Going to Change My Love for You” the same song that launched another Kauai singer Glenn Medeiros back in the 80’s!

  3. Eternally Distracted Says:

    It looks fabulous… I love the look of the pork – they serve the same dish here and it is YUM!

  4. DJan Says:

    I too love Dim Sum, but I would skip the meat ones. You know the little sesame covered “eggs” that have a sweet dark paste in them? They are my favorites! I am enjoying your trip, and you’re right: thank goodness no wild goose chase, just a nice meal near your hotel. I am enjoying your trip!

  5. Makiki Says:

    I stayed at the Peninsula and I didn’t know they served Dim Sum! We went around the corner to a place in the mall for Xiao Long Bao (soup dumplings) a couple of times. Do you ever go for Dim Sum in HI?

    There is a place in the basement of the Peninsula that makes/sells name stamps (Hanko/Chops) which are kind of an interesting souveneir if you’re interested.

    Great posts BTW!

    Alan from Makiki

  6. musings Says:

    Oh gosh! I just had breakfast and this post is making me hungry. What an adventure! I wish we were with you.

  7. Quilly Says:

    Now you’ve made me hungry!

    Sometimes the unplanned moments turn out to be the highlight of a trip.

  8. Joni Says:

    Great photos, I am SO there!

  9. Sylvia Kirkwood Says:

    Yes, now I’m hungry and I, too, just had breakfast! Looks as though you and David are having a great trip and I’m so glad! Enjoy! Thanks for taking us on a tour! Your photos are delightful!

    Sylvia

  10. Denise Says:

    Oh that dim sum looks so yummy, and so pretty to look at. When living in San Diego my Chinese friend knew of all the best places to go get dim sum. It was such a fun experience trying the different dishes. Great post and I enjoyed all your photos. Thanks Gigi!

  11. kavita Says:

    The dimsum covering is almost transparent…and they do look yummy.I wonder what made the covering so transparent..what’s their secret ?

  12. Hazel K. Ho Says:

    See what I mean? You could be a photojournalist on “Foods On The Go,”
    by Glenda.
    Do a table top book. You could do it, Glenda, you already have the shots here

  13. reiko Says:

    I ate dim sum at this same place, and did so much of what you did in your photos. You are bringing back so many memories for me! I have to warn you though, that dim sum will ruin all others for you for about a year… 🙂

Leave a comment