Live today without regrets


Avenue of Stars, Hong Kong, 2010.

“I think we all have bitter memories.
What can you do? They haven’t invented a time machine yet.
I always hear people talk about: If I knew then what I know now …
Well, sure you can regret what you didn’t do 20 years ago. And you know what? Twenty years from now, you can regret what you didn’t do today. So why not try to live your life without regrets now? You’ll have much happier memories in the future.”
–Stephen Tsai, The Warrior Beat blog, May 18, 2011

Does that strike a chord in you? It did with me. I must let go of my bitter memories and focus on today. Live today without regrets!

12 Responses to “Live today without regrets”

  1. kavita Says:

    Beautifully said .Live today without regrets.
    Hugs to Rylan .

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — YES! Try to remember the good stuff! After an interesting young life (didn’t we all?,) you’ve done well with an early retired life and can go play on the beach! I conjured up enough good memories and grand, crazy times as a 20-something to be grinning when I’m at the nursing home. It’ll make everyone else wonder! DrumMajor

  3. M Says:

    Hello Gigi, the past is the past, it’s history and you can’t change it so why stress over it. Live for today, tomorrow isn’t here yet.

  4. Stephen Tsai Says:

    By the time I’m old enough to want to remember my life, I will have forgotten everything.

  5. Da Punchbowl Kid Says:

    “God only knows all the places I’ve been
    but I love this life that I’m live’n in and
    I won’t look back to regret yesterday.
    We’re not handed tomorrow
    so I’ll live for today.”

    From the song “Live for Today” by 3 Doors Down

  6. Old Diver Says:

    I work with senior citizens everyday and though I am not quite their age, I always pass on to them what people through the ages have been searching for, the secret of life. The real secret of life is to understand we won’t be around forever and to make the most of what we have today. Seems simple but it is amazing how many people don’t really understand it. Understanding it means you will have no regrets when your time comes.

  7. Hank Chapin Says:

    I’m sorry. 🙂

  8. rasu begasu Says:

    Regets, I’ve had a few.
    But than again, too few to mention.
    blah blah blah etc

  9. musings Says:

    I’m trying.

  10. B. Says:

    The only real reason to look back is to see what you can learn so you can do better today and in the future. But regrets accomplish nothing, so why bother!

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I do try to live that way. My regrets are few.

Leave a comment