Religion ala gigi


Avenue of Stars, Hong Kong, 2010.

Well, 6 p.m. Saturday came and went and, guess what, I am still alive. I wasn’t one of the 200 million souls who would be saved and go straight to heaven. Nor was I one of the others who would be damned and doomed to hell. Halleluia, the Apocalypse didn’t happen!

But, according to the ancient Mayans, the world will definitely end on 12-21-12 because of the way the planets and stars will be aligned. Don’t hold your breath, folks, because that won’t happen, either. Tell your friends and family gigi said so.

What do I believe in? I believe in the power of love. I believe that if people have pleasant memories of you, then that constitutes heaven. If people have evil memories of you, then that is hell. The goal is to live your life in such a way that everyone, including God, loves you.

Call that religion ala gigi.

8 Responses to “Religion ala gigi”

  1. Tilly Bud Says:

    Not a bad concept 🙂

  2. kavita Says:

    I like ‘religion ala gigi’. Well said 🙂

  3. DJan Says:

    I like your religion, Gigi! I didn’t get raptured either. None of my friends are gone that I know of, so all is well in my universe.

  4. musings Says:

    If only 200 million people were to be raptured, why would you advertise on billboards that you need to prepare? And how do you prepare?

    What? December 21, 2012? Nuts! Another year and a half to worry.

  5. Hattie Says:

    Raptured? Not hereabouts.

  6. cloudia Says:

    still here!!!! yay!

    Aloha from Waikiki

    Comfort Spiral

    >

    >

    <

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t really have “beliefs”. I operate based on the knowns, not the unknowns. That makes me an agnostic I guess.

  8. Old Diver Says:

    December 12, 2012? Aiiiyaa. I just renewed my Hawaii Bowl tickets for the game on December 24, 2012.

Leave a comment