Zucchini vs. Cucumber


Jade plant, growing along a sidewalk near my home.

The other night, I decided to bake a tomato-zucchini casserole, using a recipe from The Southern Lady Cooks blog. You might remember that we have two full-size refrigerators: one in the kitchen and one in the living room. I took a bag of produce out of the living room fridge and got really upset when I saw two small cucumbers in it.

Hello!!! The recipe called for 2 zucchinis, not 2 cucumbers!

I asked Lisa, “Aren’t these cucumbers?”

“Yes, of course,” she replied.

“What an idiot David is! He doesn’t know the difference between a cucumber and a zucchini, and furthermore, the stocker at the market showed him the wrong vegetable! Grrr!” I was livid.

What could I do? It was too late to drive to the market for zucchinis, so I made the casserole with the cucumbers. When David got home from work, he received an earful from me. He kept insisting he’d bought zucchinis, not cucumbers, and he didn’t need to see my drawing of a zucchini.

The cucumbers tasted awful. But, the rest of the casserole was superb!

The next day, Lisa went to the living room fridge.

Lisa: “Mom, did you take my cucumbers and tomatoes from this fridge?”

Me: “Those were mine! David bought them for me.”

Lisa: “Mom, I bought them! Those were MY cucumbers!”

She went to the kitchen fridge and brought out a bag of zucchinis and tomatoes. “THESE ARE YOURS, MOTHER!!!”

Oh!

I apologized to Lisa. And I apologized to David. Now I know: This husband of mine CAN tell a zucchini from a cucumber! Lol.

19 Responses to “Zucchini vs. Cucumber”

  1. DJan Says:

    Oh dear. That would be funny if I wasn’t imagining cucumbers trying to fill in for zucchini and not working very well!

  2. Hattie Says:

    Is this what you are really angry about? LOL

  3. Arkansas Patti Says:

    Ha ha, what a red faced moment. Guess David is back doing the shopping now that his honor has been restored.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      David is a much better shopper than I am, because he compares prices and chooses the better value, whereas I never check the prices. If I need something, I will buy it regardless of price. He used to shop with his mother, who taught him well.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    I am cracking up. That is good.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    This was a very funny post. I have had similar exchanges with my David, but he can tell a zucchini from a cucumber, as can your David apparently. The funniest part was your cucumber casserole. Maybe Lisa can make a zucchini tomato salad? Dianne

  6. Christine Says:

    that’s funny laying blame where there was none, sounds like something I would do! Your casserole sounds yummy (except for the cucumbers, lol)

  7. anonymous Says:

    Funny that it happened so coincidentally…seems the tomatoes is to blame for the mixup if you asked me…LOL

    L. from W.

  8. Palolo Says:

    A husband that shops for his wife, should be cherished for life.

  9. friko Says:

    But you can’t tell hers from hers. Perhaps you should have a fridge each?

  10. Nanny Says:

    Oh how funny!!! Sounds like something I would do…….bless his heart he probably thought he was losing it!

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m having trouble typing while I’m laughing!

  12. gigihawaii Says:

    Friko has the right idea. Because of this fiasco, Lisa will put her produce in the living room fridge, and I will put mine in the kitchen fridge. I have informed David of this decision, also.

  13. musings Says:

    Oh my goodness! If I gave Art a bad time about a vegetable, and then discovered he had it right all the time, he’d never let me forget it. I’d prepare his favorite dish tomorrow… with dessert and hope he doesn’t make you eat crow. 🙂

  14. musings Says:

    Sorry about that. I just couldn’t resist.

  15. c0hiba Says:

    That is too funny!
    I’m at my desk roflmao!
    Poor David, taking all that abuse.

    BTW, Happy New Year!

  16. Tilly Bud Says:

    lol 😀

  17. Gobetween Says:

    😀 these things happen …

Leave a comment