True friends

Hawaii.

I love this picture, because blue is my favorite color and it calms me.  I must admit that I have been stressed out lately:  not only by the international conflict with Muslims and the fear that America will start a new war, but on a smaller scale by my need to delete certain people from my Blogroll and put them on my S-List.  Once on my S-List, these people remain there forever.  They aren’t exactly enemies, but they aren’t friends, either.  You won’t see me inviting them to dinner.

Anyway, by the end of the day, I was tempted to not write a new post. What the heck is going on in the world?  Why is there so much misery and unhappiness?  Then, I saw the above photo and I thought, “Each of us is just a speck in the Universe.  We are so unimportant in the grand scheme of things.  Will anyone remember us a billion years from now?  Of course not!”

I love it when I am able to extend my Aloha to true friends, and I always appreciate it when they reciprocate.  I have decided to focus my good will on these true friends.  Why waste time on those who insult me and who deliberately try to hurt my feelings?  Life is short, after all. So, make every minute count.

13 Responses to “True friends”

  1. Christine Says:

    I LOVE that picture too! It must be the blues…. Please don’t stop blogging! It’s scary what is going on in the world and at your election time too!

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You are so great and I am so small,
    I tremble to think of your world at all.
    And yet when I said my prayers today,
    A voice inside me seemed to say.
    Though the world is great and you’re such a dot,
    You can love and think, and the world cannot.

    Go hug Rylan, it will make you feel better.

  3. joared Says:

    I like that photo,too. Blue is also my favored color. When I visualize for relaxation, I often picture a calm blue water scene, sometimes imaging rocking slowly in a boat on it’s surface.

    Read your account of fun with Rylan and you’re so fortunate to have him close by to visit.

    Also, I’m impressed with the choices and the manner you’re going about your weight loss challenge. Like you, I’ve had to go through numerous approaches to weight loss through the years. Comes down to permanent eating life style change and exercise for me.

  4. Beatrice Says:

    Right spoken ❧
    Beatrice

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I don’t understand why someone feels the need to insult someone on their blog…..it just seems unnecessary.
    The world is a worrisome place right now, as it has been so many times in the past. Your picture is a very calming scene in light of so much of what we are seeing on the news right now.

  6. Arti Says:

    Lovely capture Gigi. And I cant understand why people cant live in peace and harmony, why all this hatred. Life is small, giving only gets us more. Aloha to you too Gigi 🙂
    And yes, please never stop blogging 🙂

  7. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve been having a rough patch myself. I’m trying not to aggravate and compound my problems with more stupidity. Started with visiting a site I have not gone to in a long time and clicking on a scamware that suddenly popped up, then two days later on Labor Day I received a scam call from Florida pretending to be from Windows saying my computer is sending error messages that it is infected….all seemed related which is why I fell for it. My nerves have not settled since and my normal routine on the computer is now thwarted.

    L. from W.

    • Anonymous Says:

      I should have read Midweek column August 15 issue….but didn’t until too late. There it described the same scam call that happened to me. Luckily I didn’t go through with what the heavy accented guy wanted me to type on my computer. Had I done it I would have given him remote access to my computer. Darn darn…and on Labor Day. Go get a job SIR!

      Furthermore, McAfee has been issuing their own alerts to correct an issue with their updates. I cannot run McAfee Tech Check as instructed to completion. So I’m worried the scamware installed a virus that is still in my computer and which McAfee cannot detect. So three separate issues…not related I’m sure now…but together I’m overwhelmed.

      Sorry to be taking space in your comments section with my problem…but rest assured you are not the only one feeling upset these days.

      L. from W.

      • gigihawaii Says:

        Hubby received 2 phone calls regarding our computer. The last one this week. Fortunately, David hung up right away. These scammers are becoming more brazen.

  8. mlum808 Says:

    Hello Gigi, I love the ocean and I can picture myself in that picture paddling on my standup paddle board.

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    Funny, I had a strong reaction against the opening ceremonies of the Olympics because the color blue was so pronounced. Probably most people wouldn’t care at all, but that’s how I reacted: too blue for me.

    You’re right. Internet stuff loses its fun and interest if it’s not interactive. The local newspaper, the Star-Advertiser, needs to give that message to all its writers. Some answer e-mails, others do not.

  10. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife Says:

    A gorgeous picture. Puts things into perspective.

  11. grannymar Says:

    I love blue it is so calming.

Leave a comment