Linda Starr’s ceramics

I am a big fan of Linda Starr’s blog (see my Blogroll).  There you will find recipes for fish, photos of wildlife and plants in her yard, and, best of all, photos and instructions about how to make her ceramics.  In fact, this year I purchased a platter and a bowl from Linda.  It’s  a long way from her studio in Florida to my home in Hawaii, but she packed the goods so well there was no breakage.

Here are photos of what I purchased:

This platter, which displays my banana croquettes (bananas smeared with mayonnaise and sprinkled with crushed peanuts), came in March.

This curvy bowl arrived in September.  Linda explains:  “I call them free form bowls with the wavy shape. When you leave a spoon in the bowl, the curves keep the spoon from inadvertently falling into the food.”

I served a fruit salad (lychees, grapes, and mandarin oranges) in it.

Both the platter and the curvy bowl are dishwasher-safe.  Lovely, aren’t they?  Unique, too.  Thanks, Linda Starr!

10 Responses to “Linda Starr’s ceramics”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    Oh so nice to see these in use in your home. I’ll post on Monday or Tuesday and link to your blog, thanks so much Gigi

  2. Christine Says:

    lovely and unique.

    Gigi I borrowed that book by Anna Qundlen, a short guide to a happy life, it took about 5 mins to read, very short indeed and sold a million copies…unbelievable. Don’t know if it would be worth paying for.

  3. L. from W. Says:

    Hmmm…I agree free form ceramics do go very well with serving food. Moreso than the perfectly spun ceramic wheel or mass produced dish that doesn’t complement nature’s bounty.

  4. grannymar Says:

    I love the curvy bowl

  5. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    The shape, design and colors are fantastic. Live and learn: I never gave it a thought but the serving spoon IS always falling into the food in circular bowls.

    I was excited to discover today that I could access your blog by my android smart phone. This opens up new possibilities as eventually these phones could replace computers. You may be amused, however, that when I tried to access your blog by voice (through the Genius button—love that name), I discovered there is a website called GG Hawaii which I got instead of Gigi-Hawaii

    • gigihawaii Says:

      You made me curious so I googled GG Hawaii and sure enough, there are two GG Hawaiis referring to a map as well as to a department at the University of Hawaii. Lol. Thanks for the heads-up on that.

  6. Musings Says:

    Wow! They’re dishwasher safe? That’s amazing!

  7. Flo Says:

    Very pretty and organic. Love such pieces for servers. NIce to enjoy them on display too.

Leave a comment