Helping David shower

Life in Gigi’s household continues, as always. I try to promote a safe and healthy lifestyle for both myself and David, always mindful that another accident could send David to the nursing home again. If that were to happen, the cost would impoverish us, as we don’t have deep pockets. I am doing everything in my power to keep him and myself healthy and safe at home.

The home therapy is drawing to a close. The therapists, bathing aide and nurse are departing within a week.

I will have to help David even more. I have begun helping David with his shower, and I think I’ll have to continue to do so indefinitely. Note that the occupational therapist turned the shower bench around. It now faces the faucet. This will give David more control. The sprayer has a pause button, which he uses to stop the water flow when he is soaping himself.

The shower bench:

The sprayer with a pause button.

David tries to hose himself, but I hose his back and head while trying to keep water off the floor. I finish by toweling his back and head, and he does the rest.

He still has difficulty reattaching his leg brace, particularly the bottom rung. I can’t stoop down to do it because of arthritis, so he has to walk to his recliner in order to finish the job. Before that happens, I remove the rug so that he can maneuver his walker safely to the living room.

Somehow, we are getting it done.

19 Responses to “Helping David shower”

  1. minsungch Says:

    I will include Gigi and David in my daily prayers for your health and safety! 🙏❤️

  2. davidmgascoigne Says:

    Daily activities take on a whole new meaning, don’t they? Be sure to let me know when those prayers mentioned above make a difference!

  3. AC Says:

    So hard for both of you. It’s so unfortunate that as we slow down and lose strength, we are asked to do more.

  4. ValerieJael Tups Says:

    You seem to be getting into a new rhythm of life these days, andx you are both doing well. Hugs, Valerie

  5. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …take of yourself as you care for David.

  6. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You can do this, Gigi. I know this is really tough for you both but you are rising to the occasion. Just remember to take care of YOU.

  7. Cathy Says:

    For better for worse for richer for poorer in sickness and in health….you are giving David the love you promised all those years ago. Do look after yourself as well please Gigi

  8. Doug M Says:

    I think both you and David are blessed to have each other, Gigi. As someone who lives alone, I can’t help but wonder what I would do if I was in David’s shoes.

  9. cmlk79 Says:

    challenging times I wish you guys the best Gigi.

  10. Elephant's Child Says:

    Well done. Both of you. And, as others have said, remember to look after yourself.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Gigi, you are showing great love for David in caring for him this way. I hope he will be able to do more for himself as time goes by. You will need self care for now.

  12. Maryellen Says:

    You are a blessing and a wonderful caregiver for him. It’s not easy to adjust to a new way of life. You are doing so well. And I agree, I hope you can take some time for yourself to get out and just breath.

    I always thought in the back of my head it would be me as caregiver. When I smashed my arm the week before Covid closures, I was amazed at how well my husband stepped up to help me with all those ridiculous things I took for granted. It does help to laugh at ourselves, too.

  13. Iris Empereur Says:

    It sounds all very intense. You two do really good.

    I think in Germany it would be payed for until you go to a nursery home, which is expensive. I´m not sure, though, as so far we needed no help… So far… I wish you all the best!

  14. DJan Says:

    A little bit at a time, but you seem to be doing quite well, considering.

  15. Beatrice Says:

    It does seem like you are doing so much now, Gigi, but loving someone means helping them in whatever way possible. But, as others have commented, do make time for yourself as much as possible. If David has male friends, perhaps they could visit and give you some free time?

Leave a comment