Go Warriors!

David and I have been watching June Jones, who is head coach of the CFL Hamilton Tiger-Cats, with interest.  So far this season, his team is 2-1.  This guy is fantastic; he has tremendous charisma.  He turned the University of Hawaii football team around from a losing team to a winning team.  Everybody loves a winner, right?  Nobody loves a loser.  Jones left Hawaii in 2008, and I doubt he will ever return to Hawaii to coach, because he’s been there, done that.  He would be bored stiff.  What he enjoys is the chase, the hunt.  Once he reaches the pinnacle at Hamilton, he probably will leave and find some other team to turn around.

This is the WAC championship ring won by the UH Warrior Football team in 2007.  The team was coached by June Jones, and the quarterback was Colt Brennan.  I got to wear this ring, when I attended a chat with Greg McMackin, who succeeded June Jones as head coach.  Notice how this ring dwarfs my wedding ring.  It’s very masculine:

mack-2011-8-2007 ring-A

I used to be an active participant of the Warrior Beat blog, hosted by Stephen Tsai, who is a sports reporter for the Honolulu Star-Advertiser.  That blog follows the UH Warrior Football team.  We used to have some great parties with fellow Warrior Beat bloggers, dating from December 2006.  There also were parties in 2007 and 2008 and numerous tailgates after that.  I even hosted a party with fellow bloggers in my home in January 2008.  Lots of fun.  Lots of happy memories.

This is my photo of the Warrior Beat first anniversary party in July 2007.  That’s blog guru, Stephen Tsai, wearing a yellow shirt.  I organized this party at Murphy’s Bar & Grill with help from other bloggers:

Sports is such a cut-throat business.  If you don’t win, you’re fired.  I wish current head coach, Nick Rolovich, good luck and all the best.  Go Warriors!

6 Responses to “Go Warriors!”

  1. David Says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more. June Jones is a miracle worker. Go Cats!

  2. Christine Says:

    That is a stressful job being a sports coach but the money is good

  3. Joared Says:

    Looks like fun times!

  4. Cathy Says:

    Sounds like fun times indeed. Any chance of a return to that sort of lifestyle/activity?

  5. Coffe Says:

    My brother recommended I might like this blog.
    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

Leave a comment