Maui, Kauai, or the mainland

I have a feeling that life on the island of Oahu will become unfeasible one day.  The drinking water might become contaminated from the jet fuel tanks stored in Red Hill, or the drinking water might become brackish due to rising sea levels.  We all will be forced to evacuate.  Where will we go?

How about moving to the island of Maui, where all the artists live?  This is a print of Lahaina Harbor, Maui, by artist David Warren.  I purchased it when I was on Maui more than ten years ago.  Maui is lovely:

IMG_2399.jpg-A

However, the Haleakala volcano on Maui could erupt, since it is not extinct.  If it does erupt, there will be widespread destruction.

How about moving to Kauai, where the volcano there is extinct and will never erupt again?  Facebook’s owner Zuckerberg resides on Kauai, which is known for its scenic beauty.  This is my photo of the Marriott Hotel in Lihue, Kauai, taken in 2008:

Kauai, 2008, Marriott, pool-A

David and I played a round of golf on Kauai (2008):

Kauai, 2008, golf, us-1-A

I don’t want to live on the islands of Molokai, Lanai, and the Big Island, because they are so unattractive.  But, there’s always the mainland to consider.

9 Responses to “Maui, Kauai, or the mainland”

  1. David Says:

    It is great that you are making contingency plans for the future. I know that the Navy will soon come its senses and move the fuel tanks. If they rupture it could be one of the greatest disasters in history.

  2. B.B. Says:

    Oh, my! Let’s hope you will be able to stay where you are.

  3. DJan Says:

    It’s good to look at possible other places to live. Those disasters you describe would displace millions of people in an already overcrowded planet. I hope they don’t occur. 😦

  4. Christine Says:

    We enjoyed our cruise around the Hawaiian islands some years ago when I met you and David.

  5. Joared Says:

    Who knows what will be happening on the mainland but the area will be a bit more to choose from. There’s some sort of risk almost everywhere, I think, so we all need options.

  6. wisewebwoman Says:

    It’s becoming increasingly risky living on this planet. Did you watch Our Planet? Gorgeous photography but the message is clear, we have to do something but my gut feeling is nothing will be done as corporations will bleed everything they can from our finite resources.

    XO
    WWW

  7. Robin Coots Says:

    I’ve stayed at that very Marriott on Kauai. I’m my opinion, Kauai is the best place on Earth, just gorgeous! Alas, I’m stuck in Utah. For now.

  8. Olga Says:

    Let’s hope you can stay put. You have the cultural opportunities you so enjoy.

  9. honoluluaunty Says:

    I would choose Kauai because it is so anti-change as well as being so green and beautiful. However, my best and worst friend lives there and would be over all the time and maybe I want to have more peace and quiet.

Leave a comment