We were supposed to go…

We were supposed to attend a new art show at the Downtown Art Center on Sunday. It’s titled “Emergence” and features works by members of the Windward Artists Guild. However, I have not been feeling well, so we did not go. Too bad, because my friend Suzanne is exhibiting her work there.

My health has not been good. I have been told by my doctor to see a rheumatologist for my sore body. However, I have decided not to do so, as I don’t want to take any more drugs that the rheumatologist will prescribe. I already take too many. There are other tests that I have to take, such as an annual MRI of my brain to track a Pituitary Adenoma, and a sonogram of my liver to see why my liver enzymes are so high. I have agreed to take these tests. Yes, I am going downhill, aren’t I?

In the midst of all this, David talks endlessly about politics and sports, two topics that turn me off. He says the Republicans will be blamed if the nation defaults. But I say the blame will rest on President Biden for poor leadership. The Lakers and the Celtics are losing in the East and West NBA Finals. So, it looks like Miami and Denver will compete for the NBA Championship.

Do I really care about politics and sports? I care more about my own personal health and personal happiness. Above all, my own peace and serenity. I don’t get any of that from politics and sports.

Sometimes, it is best to cut out the noise and be silent. Focus on beauty and charm, not on the sordid aspects of life.

I leave you with this picture of a ballerina on the beach. Isn’t she beautiful?

12 Responses to “We were supposed to go…”

  1. DavidH Says:

    I hope that your health problems are only temporary and that your overall health will improve. Yes, I am very concerned that the republicans want to default on the debt and they will try to blame it on Biden. My only income is Social Security and without that money times will be catastrophic. My medical insurance will not be paid and coverage will lapse. I hope that I can avoid going to the doctor until sanity in Washington resumes.

  2. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I’m sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well, Gigi. It’s hard to care about anything much when you don’t feel up to par and if you might be nervous about what the test results could bring. I hear you. Politically, I’m inclined to agree with David but to be honest, I think both are at fault. Yes, silence is good, sometimes. Especially when there isn’t much one can personally do to remedy things. Just take care of you.

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …I’m sorry to hear about your aches and pains, I know all about it.

  4. Doug M Says:

    Gigi, I’m sorry that health issues upended your art exhibit plans (that top image is pretty cool). At the same time, I like when you don’t have something to promote and just say what’s on your mind, your honesty is always an interesting read. I better end this comment now before I share what’s on MY mind regarding those Republicans :^)

  5. Olga Says:

    Knowing how much you enjoy art, I am sorry you were unable to attend. Take care.

  6. Valerie - Jael Says:

    As we get older we all seem to have various illnesses and health problems. Have a good week, take care!

  7. Christine Says:

    Sorry you are not feeling well Gigi

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Gigi, sorry to read about you health issues and I can totally agree with your desire not to add to the number of medications you take now. I am fortunate in not needing any meds at present and hope that will continue as long as possible. David and my husband sound similar in many ways, except for the sports. On the other hand, I tend to avoid as much news as possible as so much is repetitive and depressing. That said, I can understand David and my husband’s concerns about the state of US and world affairs.

  9. Elephant's Child Says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your health issues and hope they subside soon.

  10. dkzody Says:

    It’s not fun to be in pain…especially when one has to miss out on fun activities. Hopefully you will be doing better when the next event comes.

  11. DJan Says:

    I am also sad to hear you are not well, Gigi. I do hope you can find the cause of those elevated liver enzymes. And I commiserate with David; I’m in the same boat about politics.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    I think you should see the rheumatologist and see what they have to say. It’s best not to assume that they will just perscribe drugs. There my be diet and /or exercises that could help you.
    I try not to concentrate too much on my health and sports and a little politics can be a welcome diversion from physical discomfort and concern.

Leave a comment