Dining around the world

As you may know, I was a globe trotter for many years, beginning with my trip to Maui in 1967 and ending with my trip to India in 2012.

Today, I would like to mention those restaurants that remain vivid in my memory, simply because the cuisine was so extraordinary, and the restaurants were so beautiful.

***

Ondine: Sausalito, California (1968). Ondine was an elegant restaurant on the water, jutting into San Francisco Bay:

I ordered a succulent Duck Breast a l’Orange with green beans and rice pilaf. This is the best way to prepare duck, I swear. The roasted duck was served with oranges, cooked in a lovely sauce, infused with orange liqueur. There was a citrussy tang with every bite. Oh, I was in seventh heaven!!!

***

The Oriental Hotel: Bangkok, Thailand (1969). This restaurant was located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River. It’s the major river in Thailand, flowing through Bangkok and into the Gulf of Thailand:

Back then, I had insufficient fresh veggies in my Thai diet, so I ordered an incredible Tossed Salad with Italian dressing, something I could only get at a western hotel. The salad was crisp and colorful:

***

Hofbrau Haus: Munich, Germany (1969). Look at the magnificent ceilings:

I ordered a mug of Draft Beer and a plate of Wiener Schnitzel (veal) and potato salad. The potato salad was tangy with a touch of vinegar, and the seasoned veal was sautéed in butter. Now, I know what Wiener Schnitzel is all about:

***

The Rainbow Room: New York City (1997). David and I spent a glamorous evening at this restaurant, located at Rockefeller Center. Between bites of our dinner, we danced to live music by a terrific orchestra. Imagine us dancing the cha-cha-cha and the fox trot! Yes, we had to dress up. David wore a suit, and I wore a sexy spaghetti strap cocktail dress:

We both ordered a perfectly Braised Rabbit with rice pilaf. This is the one and only time I have ever had rabbit. It was tender and moist, seasoned just right. I wish I could have it again, but rabbit is never on the menu in Hawaii. I think it’s because rabbits are considered too cute and adorable to eat:

***

Orchids Restaurant: Honolulu, Hawaii (2008). I had a romantic dinner with David here. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean at sunset:

We shared a plate of Jumbo Sea Scallops, served on a bed of creamed corn and mushrooms, as a delicious appetizer:

David’s entrée was juicy Maine Lobster and veggies:

I had the Roasted Duck Breast and couscous. The duck was spiced with pepper and drenched in a delightful red wine sauce. How I love thee, dear Duck!!!

Dessert was a decadent slice of Coconut Cake, so wonderfully fluffy and airy that it practically melted in my mouth:

***

Crowne Plaza Okhla: New Delhi, India (2012). David and I stayed at this 5-star luxury hotel, where we had a pleasant dinner with my Indian blog friends (Jitesh, Kavita and Ruprekha). We discussed arranged marriages in India, the caste system, and local politics. They are all Brahmin, but Kavita married a dentist from the lower Warrior caste, causing consternation within her family. Jitesh’s wife was chosen for him by his parents, and likewise Ruprekha’s husband was chosen for her by her parents. They both believe arranged marriages are the best way to find a mate:

We had a delicious Buffet dinner. This is what made its way to my plate.

Uttapam, covered with veggies. It’s basically just a pancake:

Kidney Beans, Chicken, Peas and Basmati Rice. I mopped up the flavorful gravy with Naan Bread:

For Dessert, I had Fresh fruits, a Banana smoothie, and a Danish:

***

I literally ate my way around the world. You could call me a gastronome (a connoisseur of good food). Don’t worry about the calories. I walked so much while traveling that I didn’t gain a pound. In fact, I lost weight.

I had a blast!

14 Responses to “Dining around the world”

  1. cmlk79 Says:

    what wonderful meals around the world and great memories!

  2. davidmgascoigne Says:

    I too have eaten many memorable meals around the world, but taking pictures of them never even entered my head. For variety and great dishes, Singapore especially comes to mind.

  3. DavidH Says:

    You have had such an amazing and full life. Those dishes look scrumptious and they brought back so many wonderful memories. Congratulations!

  4. Doug M Says:

    This was a wonderful post, Gigi. Enjoyed seeing these restaurants from your travels and the great cuisine! The last one in India was especially intriguing as I know so little about that culture or it’s colorful food. Well done! I’ll be back to read this again. 🙂

  5. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You’ve been to some wonderful places! Those scallops look so delicious — I love the idea of serving them over corn.

  6. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …thank for this culinary tour.

  7. minsungch Says:

    it seems to have been a very enjoyable trip!!!🙏❤️😃👍🌹🌷🎆

  8. Valerie Frau Tups Says:

    Sounds great, now I need someting to eat!

  9. DJan Says:

    It all looks so wonderful, but I was surprised at the volume of food served for a single person! I don’t suppose doggy bags are used in these places, either. 🙂

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Gigi, it would be true to say you have eaten some delicious looking foods on your worldwide travels. The travels alone sounded wonderful!

  11. Miss Merry Says:

    Gosh, what wonderful foods! I bet your memories are wonderful from that time of your lives.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    That’s a fun way to collect memories – eating!

  13. AC Says:

    You documented your culinary adventures so well.

  14. Iris Empereur Says:

    Wonderful places and food! And great idea, too!!! Now I have to think of those that were very impressive for me 🙂

Leave a comment