A sweet memory

Beautiful hands, meant for the piano! (Pianist unknown)

***

Me, age 27, in New York (1973):

***

I have been listening to CDs on my stereo. Primarily classical music. It’s a mellow way to pass the time. Listening to beautiful piano music yesterday triggered a sweet memory.

There was an attractive pianist I dated a few times in New York back in the early 1970s. He was a brown haired, brown eyed white dude, about 5’8″ tall, who made his living as a high school math teacher. We struck up a friendly conversation when I was walking on the campus of Columbia University, where I was a graduate student studying music. He invited me to an opera at the Met (Wagner’s “Parsifal”), and I gladly accepted.

After “Parsifal,” he drove me to his cottage in the suburbs. A Yamaha baby grand piano dominated his living room. We didn’t stay there for long. He grabbed some sheet music from his piano and gave it to me. “This is a violin sonata I composed,” he said. Then, he drove me home in the city.

The next day, I looked at his sonata. It was unplayable, as there were a lot of notes way up high on the “E” string. There weren’t any notes on the “G” string. This man just didn’t know the full range of the violin. I had my classmate at Columbia play the piano part. It sounded pretty good. He obviously knew how to compose for the piano.

I was very honored to receive his sonata, but didn’t quite know what to say to him. I think we dated a few more times, and then, he stopped calling, and I never saw him, again. Such a nice man, really.

Beautiful music does trigger sweet memories, doesn’t it?

14 Responses to “A sweet memory”

  1. minsungch Says:

    you were so charming when you were young and now you have a noble gracefulness! 🙏❤️😃👍🌹🌷🎆

  2. davidmgascoigne Says:

    I see that he played your string well, Gigi, and the memory lingers on!

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …a musical memory.

  4. AC Says:

    That is a rather neat memory to have.

  5. cmlk79 Says:

    good memories

  6. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I love the photo of you with your violin. That’s a lovely gesture — even if it didn’t quite work as he probably had hoped.

  7. DavidH Says:

    Another interesting moment from from your varied and fascinating life. So many wonderful memories.

  8. Doug M Says:

    You got the brown hair and 5’8 right, but my eyes are hazel not brown. It was a lovely evening! 😉

  9. Iris Empereur Says:

    Beautiful pic of you and yes, music triggers memories! Sad he stopped calling without an explanation. Good you still have good memories of him.

  10. DJan Says:

    An interesting interlude in your early life. Thanks for sharing the experience.

  11. Valerie Frau Tups Says:

    We have a wonderful young man here in the clinic who plays the piano for us, such a gift!

  12. DeniseinVA Says:

    That’s very interesting and a great memory!

Leave a comment