Door lock with lighted keypad

One of our biggest fears is being incapacitated at home and unable to open the door for the paramedics. Yes, we are in our seventies and not in good health, so we do worry about such things.

We decided to order a Kwikset door lock with lighted keypad from Amazon. It cost $120.

Lisa was in town recently, so she installed it for us, using 4 AA batteries. (Sorry for the blurry photo):

Voila! This is the door lock on the inside:

And here it is on the outside:

We press the lock icon on the keypad to lock the door, and we press the passcode to unlock it.

To see it at night, we press the check mark to illuminate the numbers.

We do have a key to manually unlock it if we choose to use it.

We must remember to keep the lock on the door knob unlocked, or we would have to use a different key to unlock it.

If we want to change the passcode, we can do so.

Overall, it’s a great lock and very convenient for us and for the paramedics.

15 Responses to “Door lock with lighted keypad”

  1. davidmgascoigne Says:

    Looks like you are all set!

  2. Cathy Says:

    Sounds like a good idea. I wonder if there is anything similar here?

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …be prepared!

  4. AC Says:

    I have thought of this. It’s a good idea.

  5. Doug M Says:

    This is a smart idea, I’m always afraid of losing or forgetting my keys.

  6. Valerie Frau Tups Says:

    That’s a great idea. I have a help button round my neck, if I press it the service comes with an ambulance and they have my keys so they can come in. I sincerely hope I don’t need it again!

    Hugs!

  7. Elephant's Child Says:

    What a great idea. Love your ‘be prepared’ attitude.

  8. DavidH Says:

    We have been concerned about the paramedics because of the difficulty of getting entry. Now with the combination lock we feel much more at ease about any emergency that might arise.

  9. marmeladegypsy Says:

    This is an excellent idea. I hadn’t thought about the paramedic issue but so smart!

  10. Christine Says:

    So glad you have that now.

  11. Maryellen Says:

    There are times when living in a small town has benefits. Our town has “lock boxes”. A small box is installed somewhere on your house (the fire department does this and has a record where the box is). Inside is a key to your house. Seniors can sign a consent form that the fire department can enter your property using the key in the lock box if there is a concern or a call. 

    Now I am thinking these are called Knox Boxes. And I could be wrong, LOL

    We aren’t too worried because I think 1/2 of our town has a key to our house. . . 

  12. DeniseinVA Says:

    That’s a great idea! I have been thinking along these lines also.

  13. Iris Empereur Says:

    A great tool! All I have is a professional note what Ingo will need in emergency when I´m not home, but yes, how do they get in???

    But… our door is double locked for a reason. Ack. We live in dangerous times… I was even told I was naive to listen to the police officer – he could´ve been “false”.

    I hope you never need that lock but it´s good to have it!

  14. DJan Says:

    That’s a great addition to your home environment, for sure.

  15. Lakshmi Bhat Says:

    We have to make changes as we grow older. Best wishes to you both.

Leave a comment