Health update

David and I rode an elephant in Jaipur, India (November 2012).

***

It’s been 2 weeks since I started taking my new blood pressure medication, Telmisartan, on October 21. I must say I feel so much better. I don’t have that chronic cough anymore (due to Lisinopril), nor do I have foot and leg edema (due to Amlodipine). My blood pressure is also normal.

There is still some residual right knee pain. However, I am now able to walk up and down the street (though very slowly), and I have begun to drive David’s car short distances. I am on the road to recovery.

It was my blog friend, Suranga, who advised me to take Telmisartan. It’s a pity that we were unable to meet her, when David and I were in India in November 2012.

Anytime I have a problem, I write about it in my blog, and there is bound to be someone in the whole wide world who will read my post and give me valuable advice. That’s the value of blogging.

10 Responses to “Health update”

  1. David Says:

    I am so glad that you are on the road to recovery. Sometimes the side effects of medicines create a problem greater than the one you are trying to cure. I have never experienced any side effects from any of my medications. I have been taking lisinopril for over fifteen years and do not have a cough. I took that flu shot and the shingles vaccine with no adverse reactions.

  2. Olga Says:

    That is a good report!
    Now I am remembering that my husband was taking Lisinopril and he did have swelling in his legs and feet. He was taking so many different drugs and it seemed to me that it was a matter of trading some medical conditions for a bunch of side effects. And (men!) he did not always report well to his doctors what he was experiencing.

  3. Christine Says:

    Fantastic news, we have to advocate for ourselves.

  4. suranga date (@ugich) Says:

    Good to know the progress. Just wanted to let you know that i have also been advised a tablet called Fruselac , which is to be taken immediately on getting up, before taking in any food/coffee etc. I think this gets rid of accumulated fluid , but maintains the fluid balance well, where potassium is concerned. This is important.

    DIpodem is another med , twice a day. This is for edema caused due to lymph accumulation. Anywhere in the body.

    After I started on these (along with the BP meds etc) , friends and family remarked on how it appeared as if the face and feet looked less puffy. It was very noticeable. I am not a doctor, but I find out about whatever meds are recommended for me. If they work , I like to share the info .

    The only side effect, is you need to run and use the bathroom more often. It is understandable. All the fluid being thrown out, needs an outlet ….

    Do check with your doc.

  5. DJan Says:

    I’m glad to hear you are getting better. Yes, blog friends are the best! 🙂

  6. Elephant's Child Says:

    I am so glad to read this.
    Long may the improvement continue.

  7. wisewebwoman Says:

    Good news to read.

    XO
    WWW

  8. evi erlinda Says:

    Glad to read this post! I hope you are much better with the new med.

  9. Terrier Says:

    Great post. I like the idea of your readers feeding back to you on your medications. That is a big plus for social media.

Leave a comment