Love it or leave it?

In June, David and I purchased a 2019 Hyundai Kona, a small SUV. It was quite affordable, costing about $19,571 including tax and fees. We had also traded in our old car, which was factored into the final price of the new car.

There are positive things and negative things to say about the Kona.

Positive: It gets good mileage, about 28 miles per gallon of gas. It is small enough to maneuver through traffic very easily. It’s also a breeze to parallel park. I also like the height of the seats, which makes it easier to get in and out of the car. My previous car was too low to the ground, unlike the Kona. Further, we have never had to take the Kona to the shop for repairs, and it has never been recalled by the dealer.

Negative: The leg room in the back seat is so small. I don’t see how anyone can sit behind David, who pushes his seat back to accommodate his long legs. Further, the Kona has a bumpy ride. It’s really not a luxury car with a smooth ride.

Counterpoint: Because our Kona is red, it’s very easy to spot in the Pearlridge Shopping Center parking lot:

So, there you have it. Love it or leave it? Do we have a choice? Let’s love it!

7 Responses to “Love it or leave it?”

  1. David Says:

    Well I understand that the Lexus RX350 has a very good ride and is a much heavier and bigger car. However, it costs over $45,000 and is not something that we can afford. As far as the back seat, no one has ever ridden in the back and if they do, they can sit behind you where there is ample leg room.

    The Kona got an expert 4.5 rating from Kelly Blue Book and a consumer rating of 4.6. The Lexus got an expert rating of 4.5 and a consumer rating of 3.9. I am an analyst and clearly the Kona is the winner in terms of value.

  2. DJan Says:

    I am still driving my old 2001 Honda Civic, which gets 32mpg around town and 40 on the highway. It’s economical and trustworthy, but I can’t deny that I sometimes wish I could get a new one just for the new features that cars have these days. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Cars are so expensive, yours suits your purpose for the most part.

  4. dkzody Says:

    Unless you are carrying lots of passengers around and going long distances, I don’t see why you would need a different car. A smooth quiet ride is nice when traveling on the freeways, but for around town, the Kona sounds just right.

    I have a Subaru which I bought so I could haul things, and I don’t do as much hauling as I did when teaching, I still like to have the cargo space when I do need it.

  5. wisewebwoman Says:

    I have a Toyota Yaris for 2 years now. I had a huge battle to get it which I wrote about on my blog (in 5 parts, lol). But I absolutely love it. it’s got every bell and whistle. I only fill her about once a month. And I love the extras they loaded like letting me know if I’m too close to the car ahead, my reverse camera, the automatic high beams, etc. She is great on gas but boy a bit light on the highway in a strong wind. The price we pay for economy and efficient environmental gas usage.

    XO
    WWW

  6. Olga Says:

    Living on an island, i don’t imagine you take many long road trips where a smooth ride might be more important. If that red car gets where you want to go, love it.

Leave a comment