Art of the Philippines

Last Wednesday, David and I viewed the Filipino art exhibit at the Honolulu Museum of Art.

This is a map of the Republic of the Philippines, which is colored in red on the right side of the map. Click on the photo to enlarge it:

The Republic of the Philippines is an archipelago that stretches more than 1,000 miles from north to south. Of the more than 7,000 islands, the bulk of the land mass is made of eleven: Luzon, Mindoro, Masbate, Palawan, Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, Samar, and Mindanao. Manila, the capital of the Philippines, is located on the west side of the island of Luzon.

The Philippines was influenced by China, Southeast Asia, Spain, Islam and Christianity. All of this is reflected in the country’s art.

Here are images of some of the art in this gallery at the museum. David is in some of the pictures:

I am so glad that David enjoys our expeditions into the world of art. He is a wonderful companion.

4 Responses to “Art of the Philippines”

  1. David Says:

    That was a very interesting exhibit. I knew nothing of the art of the Philippines. I learned a lot. These monthly journeys to the museum are wonderful. It is even better with your lifetime companion!

  2. DJan Says:

    I would like to have a chance to visit that museum. Thanks for sharing the art with me. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    Thanks for sharing this interesting museum.

  4. wisewebwoman Says:

    Wow Gigi, I would love to see that. I adored the spoons and the virgins.

    What a marvelous opportunity.

    XO
    WWW

Leave a comment