Homeless in Hawaii

There is so much suffering in Hawaii. Many people, especially the elderly, are homeless. The local newspaper recently featured 2 women, who are in their 80s, living homeless in Waikiki, which is a mecca for tourists. Neither woman has ID, because it was stolen by other homeless people. Without an ID and not being vaccinated, they have limited access to shelters. Where can they use the bathroom, and where can they get food and water?

It’s a jungle out there. A dog eat dog world. Just awful! The social workers can do only so much. It’s overwhelming.

Doesn’t this make your own problems seem so petty and miniscule?

My arthritis makes me feel depressed sometimes, but at least I have a nice house to live in. I also have ID, medical and dental insurance, and enough money to buy food and pay my bills.

What have I got to complain about? Well, only arthritis!

I am so spoiled. I have everything I could possibly want in life…except perfect health.

If I had perfect health, I would be in Heaven!

20 Responses to “Homeless in Hawaii”

  1. DavidH Says:

    Even though you don’t have perfect health, the only major problem you have is your arthritis. In other ways you are truly blessed. You have so much joy in your life, you should appreciate it.

  2. Doug M Says:

    There’s a man on Youtube named Nick Johnson who makes videos detailing what’s wrong with our country, he covers homelessness a lot. I know it’s very bad in Seattle, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Portland Oregon & Hawaii. The stuff he shows is unreal. We have our own homeless population here in Pittsburgh, but it’s very small in comparison, around 200. And none of them live on the streets, we have numerous shelters downtown. And I thank God everyday I’m not one of them. Gigi, I know you’re appreciative of what you have, what you & David worked so hard for. I wish your arthritis could be gone too.

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …we often saw this in Maui.

  4. wisewebwoman Says:

    It’s a global problem Gigi, I see much of this poverty first hand having an advocacy group. I am appalled at how so many elders use the foodbank – so just when one needs nutrition most one has to survive on mac and cheese or couch surf through friends’ places. It’s a crisis.
    XO
    WWW

  5. DJan Says:

    We have a huge homeless problem here, too. It’s so sad and a sign that our country is in real trouble, when we cannot care for our elders and indigent people.

  6. Valerie-Jael Says:

    Homelessness seems to be a world wide problem. Here in the parks, under the bridges, in shop or church doorways you can see them, and it’s really very sad. The rich get ich and the poor get poorer, it’s really true. We are so lucky that we have a place to live and enough to eat and drink etc. Valerie

  7. Arkansas Patti Says:

    I really didn’t think there were so many elderly. That is horrifying. When ever there is a disaster or social problem brought up it really makes me realize just how lucky I am.

  8. Christine Says:

    I just heard San Francisco is the same

  9. Granny Annie Says:

    I visited in LA and could not believe the homeless persons camping along the street. What is wrong with our country that we cannot help these persons?

  10. Olga Says:

    This seems to be everywhere and how very sad for this country.

  11. Far Side Says:

    When we vacationed on the Big Island, I was shocked to see so many homeless. Our weather here in Minnesota is to cold for wintertime homeless, but in the summer there are a few homeless in town…one has a bike and the other an old pickup chucked full of stuff. They frequent the Library and the park outside of the Museum.

  12. marmeladegypsy Says:

    You’re absolutely right, Gigi. We moan about every little thing — how much a holiday costs or groceries or gas. We are far too spoiled.

  13. AC Says:

    It’s sad and there’s no excuse in such a rich country IMO.

  14. Beatrice Says:

    We have similar issues here in Nashua, NH, with many homeless people. There are some city shelters, but I have heard that some homeless folks would rather remain on the street. Yes, there is much in life to be grateful for and having shelter and food is never to be taken for granted.

  15. Elephant's Child Says:

    There is a lot of homelessness in my mostly well off city too. I contribute foodstuffs to a centre that supports them on my way to do my voluntary work with Lifeline. And wish I could do more.

  16. dkzody Says:

    Every day I give thanks for a roof over my head, food on the table, running water, heating & cooling, and all the amenities we have in our life. It could all go away in the blink of an eye. We’ve seen many here in California lose everything to wildfires. Homelessness knows no boundary.

  17. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have a huge homeless population here in Seattle too. It makes me sad, and like you, counting my blessings.

  18. Musings Says:

    Aha! I think I can make a comment now.
    You’re very right about the homeless situation here in Hawaii. Price of homes and rentals are through the roof. I feel so awful for the people living under viaducts and on canal embankments, etc.

  19. Nancy Chan Says:

    I think homelessness is everywhere. Yes, we are so blessed and should be grateful for what we have.

  20. Iris Flavia Says:

    Same here – at least in your place it´s warm.
    Still sad and bad…

Leave a comment