Tips from the Physical Therapist

It’s been a week since David returned home after being bedridden for 3 long months at Nuuanu Hale nursing facility. He fell on Monday and again on Wednesday. Both times the firemen came to lift him off the floor. They even rendered first aid when he gashed his right leg on the transport chair after falling off the chair.

On Thursday, a PT from Castle Adventist Health came to evaluate David. After I told her that David had fallen twice, Nia gave us a few tips on how to prevent future falls.

First, I am to bring the transport chair to his calves. When David feels the chair touching his calves, he can then sit down. This way, he won’t land on the floor.

Second, when he goes to the commode in the bathroom, he is to lean his back on the door frame. Then, he has to side step slowly to the commode and grab the bar on the wall. Then, he is to lower his pants and sit on the commode. When done, he is to grab the bar, stand and pull up his pants. Then, side step slowly towards the walker and walk to his bed.

Third, don’t cross your feet while walking or standing, as doing so will make you fall. Walk and stand with your feet wide apart.

A different PT has been assigned to help David. Her name is Katie, and she will come here twice a week for at least 6 weeks.

A nurse, an occupational therapist, and a bathing aide will also come to provide assistance.

All of this is being paid for by Medicare. No copay is required. Never, never vote for politicians, who want to cut Medicare and Social Security. Never, never vote for such horrible people. Without Medicare and Social Security, what will happen to us poor, handicapped people???

***

This is Katie, the physical therapist, who came here on Friday:

23 Responses to “Tips from the Physical Therapist”

  1. davidmgascoigne Says:

    This is no doubt a very difficult period and will take patience and courage from both of you. Thank goodness for universal health care in Canada.

  2. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …I have orthostatic problems that cause me to fall. Ask about this, perhaps David has this problem too.

    • DavidH Says:

      That God for Joe Biden who has vowed to protect Medicare and Social Security. He has made my life so much better

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I googled orthostatic hypotension. David does have low blood pressure due to BP meds he takes. He does experience dizziness when bending down. It is a problem that is incurable. Hence, he needs a caregiver (me).

  3. Doug M Says:

    I sure am sorry about David’s falls, you know I had a recent one that put me in the hospital. But he looks like he’s doing amazingly well. It was great seeing him in treatment with his physical therapist! I enjoyed reading those tips too. And I wish Republican politicians would stop trying to cut Social Security & Medicare. I ONLY vote blue.

  4. cmlk79 Says:

    I hope David improves.

  5. AC Says:

    So hard for you both, but glad for the support that you do have. It seems like he needs to walk at home like we do on ice. We say, “Walk like a penguin.”

  6. Iris Empereur Says:

    Yes, so glad the system pays! Hope David improves very soon, it must be frustrating for both of you…

  7. marmeladegypsy Says:

    These are wonderful ideas and I’m so glad that the PTs are sharing very useful and practical tips to help make things safer for David. I’m with you on Social Security and Medicare. They’re incredibly important to maintain.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m glad David is getting such good care, from medical providers, and YOU!

  9. Henry Chapin Says:

    This falling is serious business. I’ve had some nasty falls, but at the rate of about one bad one every two years, a few others where I didn’t get hurt. It’s weird how the advertising slogan is accurate, “I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.” So I have no remedy except to heed all the advice. I have taken to using a cane. I feel speechless, since an accident, by definition, happens when we are unaware and don’t see it coming.

    I am using my given name of Henry today, since the best news to append to this gloomy narrative is that I have a new great-grandson and my granddaughter and her husband named him Henry, a name I am now resurrecting. He is a bundle of creative energy and so much fun. REWARDING!

    Another positive idea is to pass along what the nurse said when my visiting daughter took me to the doctor recently: “EVERYONE NEEDS A DAUGHTER.” You have done so well in daughters. And now your daughter’s daughter is really aiming for her soccer goal at Utah. And to include Rylan, he seems to be shooting up in height and aiming for six feet.

  10. Elephant's Child Says:

    I am so glad that you are getting the support that you both need – and hope these pesky falls are going to be a thing of the past.

  11. DJan Says:

    I didn’t know about the second fall; I am glad to learn that you two have all the help you need through Medicare. And David looks like he’s going to make a full recovery one day soon. Glad he’s got you to care for him.

  12. Deanna Says:

    How did you get home therapy so fast? My dad came home on December 31st and we waited a month to be seen. Then took another week and a half to continue sessions as it had to get approved.

    Hope for a speedy recovery and being safe.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The social worker and doctor at Nuuanu Hale nursing facility did the paper work and submitted it to Castle Adventist Health. One by one the therapists and aides and nurse have been calling me to see David.

  13. Valerie Frau Tups Says:

    you are both going through a hard time just now, hope David soon feels better. Sending hugs and love,!

  14. Miss Merry Says:

    How wonderful you are getting such good advice from your therapists.I agree. Our seniors deserve the medical care and therapy they need to remain in our homes.And I am speaking for myself, too.Blessings to both of you and vote Blue!

  15. Beatrice Says:

    While I was sorry to read about David’s recent falls, the helpful tips you posted can be helpful to others in similar or their own situations, Gigi. It is also good to read that David is receiving such good care and your point about never voting for those who propose cutting Medicare benefits is well taken.

  16. Really Says:

    so them we can assume you do not vote republican?

Leave a comment