Finding time for myself

I am David’s personal secretary and servant. Such a lucky man, really. Therapists, a nurse and a bathing aide have been calling me to set up appointments. I am very busy emptying his urinals, refilling his portable bidet, water bottles and cannister, changing his clothes, washing his laundry, cooking and cleaning. Oh, the chores are endless. Very difficult with my crippling poly arthralgia.

***

Meanwhile, I manage to find pockets of time for myself. I relish the time I spend in front of the computer and the TV. Since David monopolizes the TVs in the living room and his bedroom, I was forced to buy my own personal TV and rocker-recliner for my bedroom.

My 43″ Samsung TV stands on top of my desk:

My Rocker-Recliner was purchased on sale at a steep discount:

***

I also find pleasure in buying jewelry. I recently purchased 5 crystal beaded necklaces in different colors (Pink, white, brown, green and blue). These came from Amazon, and they cost only $14 + tax each.

One of 5 crystal beaded necklaces I purchased from Amazon. This is the brown necklace:

***

It’s called “retail therapy,” dear. David and I both need therapy, just different types of therapy.

As you can see, it’s not all drudgery for me. I go to bed at 8 pm and wake up at 1 am. As long as I get 5 hours of sleep, I can function the rest of the day.

16 Responses to “Finding time for myself”

  1. davidmgascoigne Says:

    A difficult time for both of you, Gigi, and I would imagine at least a little demeaning for David.

  2. Doug M Says:

    Gigi I didn’t realize your days were that busy. Your own 43″ tv looks perfect, love the rocker recliner and that one necklace is very pretty! Good for you! 🙂👍

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …my mother became my father caregiver when he had a stroke. They can been devoted partners. She never took time for herself and she died before my dad. You can’t care for others unless you care for yourself!!!

  4. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I say do what you need to do to keep yourself on an even keel. Caregiving is VERY tough work, sometimes physically (especially, if — as you do — have your own issues) and always emotionally. Finding time for yourself is essential to being able to do the job of caregiving with a full heart and effectively. I’m glad you recognize that.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    Gigi, certainly you should be good to yourself because we all know you deserve to do that, even David. Thanks for letting us know that you are making time to do things you enjoy. Caregiving is a very tough task even when you are doing it for someone you love.

  6. Christine Says:

    So glad you are finding time for yourself.

  7. breakfastplace Says:

    It sounds like you have made time for yourself. Good for you. I was Ron’s caregiver and when he was at the hospital he would ask for my help getting him out of bed. There just wasn’t enough strength in me to do it and I finally told him it hurt me to try and lift him and that was what the nurses were to be doing. He immediately apologized and said he didn’t think about what it was doing to me. Then he started using the nurses. That gave us more time for kissing.

  8. DavidH Says:

    I know that I am in the early stages of my recovery I am working with the occupational therapist to perform many of my daily tasks. Your workload will be reduced and you will have more time for yourself Please bear with me.

  9. Valerie Frau Tups Says:

    I am sure your workload will get less as David recovers. Make sure you get some breaks! Hugs, Valerie

  10. DJan Says:

    I’m glad you are taking time for yourself. Nice TV and recliner!

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    Caregiving is not easy. Caregiving for yourself is important.

  12. Elephant's Child Says:

    I am sure that if the tables were reversed David would be your caregiver – and wonder what retail therapy he would indulge in. I am glad that you are also looking after yourself.

  13. DeniseinVA Says:

    Being a full-time caregiver is by no stretch of the imagination, at all easy. It is important to find time for yourself and I am glad to see you have been doing just that. Lovely necklaces and the chair and TV are very nice. 

  14. AC Says:

    Sue was very helpful to me when I needed her last year although that was mostly twice a day with the catheter.

  15. Miss Merry Says:

    It is so wise to cut out some time for yourself. And whether it is losing yourself in a television show or a little retail therapy (great buys on the necklaces!) I’m glad you do have some minutes to yourself. Being a caregiver is the hardest job in the world.

  16. Iris Empereur Says:

    Right thing to pamper yourself beside your tough jobs!

Leave a comment