Our new 3D TV

When our seven year old TV began to show horizontal lines on the screen, David called the cable company to fix it. The technician came and tested it.  He said, “It’s not our fault; it’s your TV.”

So David went to BestBuy and purchased a new 65” 4K Ultra High Definition 3D TV. It’s made by Sony and has a flat screen (not the undesirable curved screen).  He got it discounted for $340 off the original sale price just by telling the sales manager that he had seen it advertised for less on the Internet.  There also was free delivery, free installation, and free haul away of the old TV.

These are views of our new TV:

New TV 018-A

New TV 019-A

Nice, clear picture, huh?

We also were given two pairs of 3D glasses and have ordered four more.

Yesterday, I sat down to watch “Gravity” in 3D.  I liked the visual effects, but not the plot.  Dull and boring.  I did not finish the movie.

David, on the other hand, loved “Gravity.”  He intends to watch “Avatar” in 3D shortly.

16 Responses to “Our new 3D TV”

  1. DJan Says:

    I loved Avatar but was not thrilled with Gravity, either. Nice TV! 🙂

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Interesting. I never liked 3-D or surround sound, but then I don’t watch much TV. BTW, don’t know how your interview withe the healthcare rep went, but David has United Healthcare. He is in a plan through his employer so it would be different from what you have in Hawaii. I hope you write about your experiences with your new plan.

    Is David going to have knee surgery this fall?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      No, he is not going to have knee surgery this fall, because he is taking Clomid, which has strengthened his leg muscles so much that he has no trouble walking.

      We have decided to enroll in Humana on October 15. It will take effect on Jan. 1, 2015. I might write about it later.

  3. L...w Says:

    We don’t watch TV much and find watching foreign dramas and you tube on our small Kindle Fire HDs enough for our viewing needs. We might be missing out.

    • L...w Says:

      Too funny…your “related” posts above (at least what was shown on my screen) took me to related 3D TV discussions in 2010 and 2012. David’s been wanting a 3D TV for so long…how nice that he finally has it:)

  4. Christine Says:

    oh wow, it looks fantastic!

  5. Olga Says:

    It never even occurred to me that there was 3-D TV. Mike had what he called a master eye and could not see the 3-D effect although his eyesight was otherwise excellent.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    That’s one BIG, fancy TV. I know David will love it.

  7. dkzody Says:

    Wow, that is a huge tv. We have a 25 year old tv that sits on a shelf on the wall unit I’ve had for over 40 years. There is no place in this tiny house for such a big tv like yours. I am always amazed when we go to the Sony store in Palo Alto and look at the new tvs. The pictures are beautiful.

  8. Bob Says:

    Now that you had the TV for about two weeks, how do you like it? As I am in the market for a TV, I want to know the model number of your TV and what made you select that model as I know there are different Sony 3D and 4K models.
    Thanks,
    Bob

  9. Bob Says:

    Thanks for the info, that is one of the models I researched and liked all of the comments and reviews of that TV, I just wanted to hear a review by a local buyer.

Leave a comment