A French memory

The Seine River. (Photographer unknown)

***

My friend, Vicky, is now spending a month in France with 4-5 friends from graduate school. They will spend time in Paris, Bordeaux, Avignon and Nice, staying in 4-bedroom condos. She speaks supermarket and restaurant French, having studied the language for two years in high school.

Vicky adores France. About ten years ago, she traded homes with a French woman. She stayed in that woman’s apartment in Paris, while the woman stayed in Vicky’s house in Hawaii. It was fun for both of them. Now, here she is in France, again.

I spent two weeks in Paris in November 1969, not the best time to travel, as it was cold. No snow, but it rained. It was always cloudy. However, I managed to walk outdoors daily.

One evening, I was walking to my pension on the Left Bank, when I saw a middle-aged man, huddled over a small stove on a desolate plaza. There was nobody else around. As I approached, I saw that he was roasting chestnuts. I felt sorry for him and bought a bag of chestnuts from him.

When I got back to my room, I took one of the warm chestnuts out of the bag and tried to bite into it. Alas, it was still hard, because it had not roasted long enough. I ended up throwing the bag in the trash can.

Rather than feeling peeved, I was glad that I had given that man some coins for the chestnuts. At least, it was an honest living, and he wasn’t one of those panhandlers, who stick their hand out for alms.

I have so many memories of Paris. If you’re interested, you can read my more detailed post about Paris here:

12 Responses to “A French memory”

  1. davidmgascoigne Says:

    I am not wild about Paris, but the south of France around Avignon is wonderful. I could live there, I think!

  2. Doug M Says:

    A nice story about your friend and the chestnuts in 69, Gigi… I enjoyed your other memories of Paris and living simply on chocolate crepes too. You really made the most of your younger years! 🙂🇫🇷

  3. tomthebackroadstraveller Says:

    …you aren’t cheap, you are frugal!

  4. AC Says:

    People who cruise in Paris are inseine.

  5. marmeladegypsy Says:

    While rain and cold is never ideal for any travel, at least in Paris there are marvelous things to do inside — museums, churches, and so much more. This is a lovely story, Gigi. I’m glad you helped too.

  6. Christine Says:

    I loved Paris when I visited. It was just before I started blogging so no posts for it unfortunately.

  7. Elephant's Child Says:

    Your memory banks are very rich – which I think is the best kind of wealth.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    I was in Paris in 2014, absolutely loved it but was only there for a weekend and taking care of elderly family members. I would love to go back in the summertime but I may have to wait until my next lifetime. I enjoyed your memories and seeing that lovely photo. Thanks Gigi!

  9. Iris Empereur Says:

    That homes-swapping sounds like a great idea!!!

    I was two weeks in a French family in 1986, in Louviers, near Paris. Paris back then was smelly, that´s all I remember. You have better memories 🙂

    But, in Louviers I fell in love with the much older son, so much so I even watched “Purple Rain” in French just to cuddle up!

  10. threeamigosmama Says:

    Enjoyed your memory of the man and his chestnuts even though these chestnuts were inedible. How kind of you to think of this man and his circumstance.

Leave a comment