David Warren, artist

Last Saturday, we took our David Warren monoprint, titled “Koi Pond,” to Pictures Plus at the Navy Exchange, hoping that they would be able to rid the print of mold and mildew.  Well, no such luck.  We ended up paying $382 for a new frame, new glass, and two new mats.

old mats 002-A

BEFORE:  “Koi Pond” with mold and mildew.

Koi Pond 003-A

AFTER:  “Koi Pond” with new frame, glass, and mats.  Do you like it?  I hope so, because we do! It hangs in our family room.

art-6-cropped

Here is another print of his that we dearly love.  It is called “Lahaina Harbor,” which is a famous tourist attraction on Maui.  It hangs in our living room.

David Warren died at age 58 in 1998 in a traffic accident on Maui, where he had lived and worked as an artist.

P.S.  We were told to never use Windex or liquid cleaner on the glass.  We were told to use a soft towel, instead.

18 Responses to “David Warren, artist”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Love the new look on both of them! I didn’t realize the mold crept in to the underside of the glass. Can they make it mold-resistant somehow? I can see the previous streaking, and it looks like a new print in the new frame. Lahaina sure looks different without the sailboat in place when I was last there. DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I wish I had done this sooner, because there is a little bit of mold on the Koi Pond print itself, which they could not remove. This is why I removed all art from the master bedroom, which tends to be humid.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    He was so talented. I really like the new green matting.

  3. christine Says:

    The green matte looks fantastic with the painting! Wonderful artist, untimely death.

  4. DJan Says:

    Beautiful paintings. You are definitely art aficionados, Gigi! 🙂

  5. L...w Says:

    I bet their is a story behind each painting…ie how and why it was acquired. I don’t buy art because I wouldn’t be able to choose which I like better. I think I like them all lol

  6. L...w Says:

    oops…can’t believe “their” lol

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Great job by the reframers. Love the way they matched the green. Too bad you got mildew. I didn’t think the climate in HA was that humid.

    I took a print Hannah had made in one of her art classes to our local frame shop. While discussing how to frame it, I discovered she had used great skill in making it.

    The print is an etching and very well done, although I don’t like the content very much. She got a A for the project, so I had the framer use the special glass to protects the print against ultraviolet light and an acid free matte. Expensive, but I told Hannah she could take it when I die. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    I’m happy you liked what they did with the new matting and frame. It looks great. Your art is lovely Gigi. Sad about the artist. I remember the scene very well as I loved looking in the art galleries on Maui when we were there several years ago. Sad about the artist’s untimely demise.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    The new green matting really livens up the first print. well done.

  10. NRIGirl Says:

    Beautiful prints Gigi! Worth every penny! Enjoy!

  11. DrumMajor Says:

    I just HAD to say it: so it’s “steamy” in the master bedroom, eh? Interesting how different parts of houses “behave” differently. I have three tiny levels, and it’s too cold downstairs and too hot upstairs, but the garage (surrounded by the duplex) is never colder than 54 degrees, even if it’s zero outside! DrumMajor

  12. Kay's Musings Says:

    Pictures Plus did an excellent job on the matting and framing. They look fabulous! No kidding? You’re not supposed to use Windex? I wonder why.

  13. Jo-Ann Says:

    Where can I find more information of his works? I have 2 etchings of his work that I got from Goodwill. Lahaina Harbor, and Village Life. I Love them.

  14. W Brant Says:

    I was a friend of David Warren and he to my family we had several oils, oil sticks, and etchings. He was gone far too soon. His work is beautiful an reminds me of my island home!

  15. Alicia Cromwell Says:

    Hi my name is Alicia I was on vacation in Maui in April 1994 and purchased David Warren’s art piece called dancing with mr. p it’s several women like ghost figures dancing around it’s an oil on canvas I need a phone number that I can contact so I can get an estimated value of the art piece now I paid $2,800 for it then without the frame and would sure appreciate it if you could contact me my email is a li Cromwell 5 6 @ yahoo.com thank you

Leave a comment